Family Storytime: Feeling Thankful (2021)

I haven’t repeated storytime themes very often, but I find it comforting to do this theme every year in November, just tweaking my books and activities from year to year. With the tumult of the pandemic, I’m not sure how many of my families have actually experienced all three versions of this, but I’m finding it’s a worthy repeat. You can see the version I did in 2020 here (I hadn’t been blogging in 2019, but perhaps someday I’ll write up those older sessions.)

As in the past, I prefer not to focus on the American Thanksgiving tradition, culturally and problematically wrapped up in false narratives and violent colonialism, but on gratitude as a concept. I also like to use this opportunity to highlight Native authors and illustrators. This year I also talked kindness and family get-togethers (both of which I’m thankful for) as segues into our books.

Additionally, this was a significant storytime for me, as it was my last one at this library. I accepted another position (still doing storytime!) and this was a great theme for me to say goodbye and express my appreciation for all the storytime friends I’ve made and the library as a whole. More on that transition in an upcoming post!

You can see the plans for every year I’ve done this theme here.

You can see the virtual program that does not include the full books read aloud here.

Early Literacy Tip: When we are warm, and fed, and snuggled with someone we love, our brains release a chemical called serotonin. This makes us feel good, but it also has the effect of helping us learn. When you snuggle with your child and sing and read together, their brains soak up the language they hear and the serotonin helps make that learning permanent. Snuggling, talking, and singing with your child helps get them ready to read.

Welcome Song: We Clap and Sing Hello

Our new repeated warm-up rhyme.
Warm-Up Rhyme: Open, Shut Them
Open, shut them, Open, shut them
Give a little clap, clap clap!
Open, shut them, Open, shut them
Lay them in your lap, lap, lap!

Creepy, crawly, Creepy, crawly
Right up to your chin, chin, chin
Open up your little mouth,
But do not let them In, in, in!

Higher, higher, Higher, higher
Almost to the sky, sky, sky
Then like little birdies
Watch them Fly, fly, fly!

Lower, lower, Lower, lower
Almost to the ground, ground, ground
Quickly pick them up again
And turn them round and round:
Faster, faster, faster!
Slower, slower, slower.

Open, shut them, Open, shut them
Give a little clap, clap clap
Open, shut them, Open, shut them
Lay them in your lap, lap, lap!
Source: adapted from King County Library System (WA)

Talk: What does it mean to feel thankful? When would you say “thank you” to a person? Let’s practice with this fingerplay

Figuring out how to do this rhyme without the middle finger AND using it to do the ASL sign for I love you is one of my proudest moments. 🙂
Fingerplay: Where is Thumbkin?
Where is Thumbkin, Where is Thumbkin?
Here I am, Here I am,
How are you today, Friend?
Very well, I thank you.
Run away, run away.

(repeat with pointer, pinky, then all three)
Where are three friends, Where are three friends?
Here we are, Here we are,
How are you today, Friends?
Very well, we thank you.
I love you, I love you.
Source: adapted from the traditional rhyme by Ms. Emily

Lyrics to Where are Three Friends with silhouettes of two hands with thumbs up and two hands showing the ASL "I Love You" sign.

I am always thankful when people are kind to one another. This book is by two Native American creators. Monique Gray Smith is of Cree, Lakota and Scottish descent, and Nicole Neidhardt is Diné, also known as Navajo.
Read: When We Are Kind by Monique Gray Smith & Nicole Neidhardt

Book cover of When We Are Kind.

Song: The More We Get Together
See ASL movements here: https://youtu.be/YZLlZoD3gU8
The more we get together, together, together
The more we get together
The happier we’ll be
For your friends are my friends
and my friends are your friends
The more we get together
The happier we’ll be

The more we read together, together, together
the more we read together
the happier we’ll be.
Read big books and small books
Read short books and tall books
The more we read together
the happier we’ll be.
Verse 2 Source: Story Time Secrets

Breathing Break: Soup Breathing
Time for a mindful breathing break. I asked the kids to imagine they were holding a bowl of their very favorite soup, and asked what kind they liked. Then with their hands cupped in front of them, we slowly breathed in the delicious aroma through their noses, then slowly and gently breathed out through their mouths to cool off this hot soup. Afterward, I let them know that this exercise always makes me feel good and more grounded, and they could always get out their bowl of soup if they need help calming down or feeling more connected to their bodies.
Source: Lucky Little Learners

One more repeated activity.
Action Song: Zoom, Zoom, Zoom!
Zoom, zoom, zoom, we’re going to the moon!
(hands scrape past each other rhythmically)
Zoom, zoom, zoom, we’re going to the moon!
If you want to take a trip (fingers walk up arm)
Climb aboard my rocket ship!
Zoom, zoom, zoom, we’re going to the moon!
In 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, BLASTOFF! (crouch, then jump!)
Source: Jbrary

I’m thankful for time to get together with family! This grandma has a tiny house, but a BIG family!
Read: Grandma’s Tiny House by JaNay Brown-Wood & Priscilla Burris

Book cover of Grandma's Tiny House.

Ukulele Song: If You’re Thankful and You Know It
(tune of If You’re Happy and You Know It)
If you’re thankful and you know it, clap your hands
If you’re thankful and you know it, clap your hands
If you’re thankful and you know it
and you really want to show it
If you’re thankful and you know it, clap your hands

Additional Verses:
Stomp your feet, Shout “hooray”, Do all three
Source: adapted from the traditional

This flannel was made from the template created by Mel at Mel’s Desk! I go over the lyrics first and add the flannel pieces, then play the song (recorded or ukulele)I encourage kiddos and parents to snuggle and hug, or kiddos can snuggle with a stuffed animal during this song. Afterwards is a good time to mention today’s early literacy tip.
Flannel/Ukulele Song: Thanks a Lot
Thanks a lot, Thanks for Sun in the sky
Thanks a lot, Thanks for clouds so high
Thanks a lot, Thanks for whispering wind
Thanks a lot, Thanks for the birds in the spring
Thanks a lot, Thanks for the moonlit night
Thanks a lot, Thanks for the stars so bright
Thanks a lot, Thanks for the wondering me
Thanks a lot, Thanks for the way I feel
Thanks for the animals, Thanks for the land,
Thanks for the people everywhere
Thanks a lot
Thanks for all I’ve got
Thanks for all I’ve got
Source: From the Album “Baby Beluga” by Raffi

Thanks a lot flannel set with a yellow sun, white cloud, red bird, blue swirl for wind, yellow crescent moon, purple star, single person figure with arms raised, pink heart, elephant, evergreen tree, and group of three people of various skin tones with arms to the side.

Get a downloadable ukulele songsheet for “Thanks a Lot” here!

thumbnail of Thanks A Lot ukulele songsheet

Craft: Thankful Tree
The concept is very similar to the “Thankful Wreath” from last year. Each craft packet had several leaf shapes in various fall colors (red, yellow, orange, brown), and a piece of sky blue construction paper with a brown bare tree shape printed on it. I added the heading “I am thankful for…” at the top, and kids could write (with or without help) or draw the things they’re grateful for on the leaves and paste them on.

Download a PDF of the tree and leaves here!

Thankful tree craft - a dark brown bare tree figure on light blue paper with a heading, "I am thankful for..." and fall colored leaves listing gratitudes: books, love, storytime friends, feeling safe, family, and music.

I also booktalked these alternative titles during the permanent YouTube video.
Let’s Be Kind
by Ekaterina Trukhan
The Blue Table
by Chris Raschka
Thanks a Ton!
by Sabrina Moyle & Eunice Moyle
The Thank You Book
by Mo Willems

Goodbye Song: See You Later, Alligator
(tune of Clementine)
See you later, alligator (wave with one hand, then the other)
In a while, crocodile (open and shut arms like a croc’s mouth)
Give a hug, ladybug (hug yourself or a loved one)
Blow a kiss, jellyfish! MWAH! (move hand like a jellyfish then blow a kiss!)
Source: King County Library System

Closing Rhyme: Tickle the Stars

This storytime was presented virtually on 11/23/21.

Storytime Handout:

Storytime handout with suggested books, rhyme and song lyrics

Author:

Early literacy librarian near Indianapolis, Indiana.

5 thoughts on “Family Storytime: Feeling Thankful (2021)

Leave a comment