Preschool Storytime: Favorites

In the week or so before this storytime, I asked my viewers (we’re still virtual) what their favorite songs and rhymes are. I didn’t get a huge response, so I made a list of common and well-known songs as well as a few of my own favorites. I made magnetized picture pieces representing all of these, and grouped them in threes or fours for kiddos to choose from in our comments during storytime. It was really great to see those comments come through! For the recorded session (link below), I gave the options, appeared to consider, and chose the songs/rhymes that I liked and made most sense with our stories. I reminded kids and grownups that if the one they were hoping to hear didn’t get chosen, to pause or do those favorites on their own! Hopefully this reminds grownups that they don’t have to be in storytime to rhyme and sing with their kids. The books were my own favorites. I had a good time with this one!

EDIT: I’ve realized that the tune “Shortnin’ Bread” is rooted in racism and can be harmful. I’ll no longer be using “Mama’s Little Baby” during storytime, as it uses this tune.

You can see the virtual program that does not include the full books read aloud here.

Early Literacy Tip: Talking with your children, especially as you share books, is one of the best ways to develop your children’s vocabulary. In books they see things they might not otherwise see, like different kinds of animals. Take advantage of expanding their vocabulary by talking with them about the pictures in books.

Welcome Song: We Clap and Sing Hello

The board at the beginning of storytime:
I removed the images of songs we didn’t use and at the end of storytime the board showed a road map of what we did. Unfortunately, I didn’t take another picture at the end… *These were the items that I chose.

Magnet board with lots of printed and laminated pieces with pictures representing songs and rhymes (2 blackbirds, spider, teapot, star, grandfather clock, popcorn, etc)

Fingerplay One – Choose from:
Two Little Blackbirds
Itsy Bitsy Spider *
I’m a Little Teapot

closeup of fingerplay one images

Fingerplay Two – Choose from:
Slowly, Slowly*
(from Jbrary)
Hickory Dickory Dock
(from Jbrary)
Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star

closeup of fingerplay two images

Read: Red House, Tree House, Little Bitty Brown Mouse by Jane Godwin & Blanca Gómez

Scarf Songs – Choose Two:
One Bright Scarf*
(from Jbrary)
Mama’s Little Baby Loves Dancin’
(from KCLS) See EDIT above
Popcorn Kernels* (from Jbrary)
Row, Row, Row Your Boat

closeup of scarf song images

Read: Can I Be Your Dog? by Troy Cummings

Song – Choose from:
My Dog Rags*
(from Jbrary)
ABC Song
Where is Thumbkin?

closeup of song images

This book is not only a beautiful poem about all the things the ones who care for us want to give us, but it’s illustrated by one of my absolute favorite artists, Christian Robinson.
Read: Just In Case You Want to Fly by Julie Fogliano & Christian Robinson

Action Song – Choose from:
Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes
Zoom, Zoom, Zoom
* (from Jbrary)
Tick, Tock, Tick Tock (from Jbrary)

closeup of action song images

Ukulele Song – Choose from:
Mr. Sun
Apples and Bananas
Down By the Bay
Shake My Sillies Out*
(these four from Raffi)
If You’re Happy and You Know it

closeup of ukulele song images

Visit my Ukulele Songsheet Page for arrangements for each of these songs!

Craft: My Favorite Things Coloring Sheet
I looked at a lot of other people’s “Favorite Things” sheets and couldn’t find one that I loved. So I used Canva to make my own. You can download a copy here.

Coloring sheet with My favorite...
animal, color, food, toy, book, and thing to do outside

I also suggested these alternative titles during the permanent YouTube video.
Pokko and the Drum
by Matthew Forsythe
The Bad Seed
by Jory John & Pete Oswald
Hello, Hello
by Brendan Wenzel

Closing Rhyme: Tickle the Stars

This storytime was presented virtually on 12/8/20.

Storytime Handout:

Storytime handout with suggested books and rhyme/song lyrics.

Author:

Early literacy librarian near Indianapolis, Indiana.

One thought on “Preschool Storytime: Favorites

Leave a comment